Vogue Empower My Choice: What the criticism actually did to feminism

This Is My Truth

The Vogue Empower video titled ‘My Choice’ featuring Deepika Padukone and 99 other women, from different walks of life, has already taken way too much space than it deserved. And yet, I feel the need to defend it. Allow me to explain why.

My first reaction:

The video was released on Saturday and when I first saw someone sharing it, I didn’t even bother to open it, just like I don’t care to open so many other virals the public seem to love. But then as more people started sharing it, particularly my feminist progressive friends, I thought ok lets see what it is all about. So I saw and thought it was just about nice, makes a few bold statements which can be appreciated except that they didn’t really have a large size woman, even when the narrative went, “To be a size zero or a size 15, my choice.”

My second…

View original post 1,389 more words

Leave a Reply

