Peace Symposium 2015 with Messages to Mumbai

On 14th August, The Peace Foundation, an organization here in New Zealand, invited me to share some Words of Wisdom with students and teachers from 10 different schools based all over Auckland. Here is the guidance I shared with the students and teachers on the day:

This picture was taken by Aurelie Baulard at the Secondary Schools' Peace Symposium 2015.

This picture was taken by Aurelie Baulard at the Secondary Schools’ Peace Symposium 2015. If you would like to see the other photos Aurelie clicked on the day click here.

A few days ago, I was asked to deliver a speech for the Words of Wisdom segment of today’s event. So, on Tuesday afternoon, I sat in front of a blank piece of paper, all pumped up, in the hope of writing something exceptional. Minutes turned into hours and hours turned into days, but that piece of paper remained blank. It was precisely 2 am this morning when I cursed myself for having accepted this offer for it had made me think – What could I, a 21-year-old, share that would make me sound wise? Then it occurred to me – why not talk about being a teenager. I don’t know if it will make me sound wise, but at least, I will have something to say.

Adolescence is one heck of a wacky ride. Trust me, I know. I have been there. During this phase of life, there will be times where your fear of failure will drive you more than your desire to succeed. There will be times when you feel the need to become someone else – someone perhaps of superior intellect, or an exquisite figure, or in my case someone who talks a little less – in order to feel accepted and appreciated. There will also be times when you feel lost, confused and maybe even hopeless.

As you grow older, you will find that the boundary between right and wrong is becoming relatively more transparent. What appears to be right is not always right and what appears to be wrong is not always wrong given the situation, of course. You will also notice that change is the only constant. But with change comes a certain degree of resistance. If you are a night bird like me, the act of waking up in the morning comes with a certain degree of resistance.

Know that no matter what kind of twists and turns your life takes, you always have a choice. You have a choice when it comes to what you think, what you say and what you do. You have a choice to react in a constructive manner or react in a destructive manner. YOU ALWAYS HAVE A CHOICE. And those choices will shape your reality. Sometimes it is important to hear that, even if it is from a 21-year-old.

After participating in today’s event, you may (or may not) feel compelled to ignore the stereotypes and/or avoid trying to fit within the walls that society creates for you. Living your life authentically – so as to match your infinite potential – is most probably the only way to live a life without regret because it guarantees a degree of inner peace. Peace is not what exists on the outside; it is what radiates from within. It is empowering and, for some of you, perhaps even daunting to know that you are able to impact people’s lives simply by existing.

I would now like to end my not-so-short speech with a quote by a Greek philosopher named Plutarch – “What we achieve inwardly will change outward reality.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

